Doughnuts

Hello my people! So Hanukkah is on the horizon (after Thanksgiving) and everyone needs to be prepared with a doughnut recipe! My mom has been making these doughnuts for Hanukkah pretty much since I could remember and they have always been my favorite! So yeah, awesome doughnuts. šŸ˜‰ I have yet to make them completely by myself because we always have to make a lot of doughnuts

IMG_3557.JPG

so I’ve always had help (mom and older my sister). And this is my 50th post so it deserves something awesome, right?

So here is the recipe!

Doughnuts-

Combine 2 pkgs. of yeast (About 2 Tbsp with 1/2 tsp taken out) with 1/2 cup of water and 1 tsp of sugar.

Put in a pan and scald (put it on a high enough temperature to start steaming and then pull it off and let cool)Ā  1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp salt.

Let the milk mixture cool and then add 1 cup of flour and beat well.

Add the yeast mixture, 2 eggs and 4-5 cups of flour.

This recipe makes a soft dough.

Let rise one in the bowl and after that roll out the dough to a 1/4 inch thick. Cut out with doughnut cutter and let rise on the counter one more time. (You can let the dough rise in the bowl in the fridge overnight.) Fry the doughnuts at 375 F.

Aaand the glaze. There’s not really an exact amount… Just mix powdered sugar with hot water until it looks right and add a pinch of salt, a teaspoon of vanilla extract and about a cap-full/1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract

That is the end of my mom’s recipe that I was typing from.Ā  šŸ˜‰

So happy Hanukkah way too early!

And please comment!

~Sprinklesquink~

7 thoughts on “Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

